David Wilkins Award

David Wilkins Award

David Wilkins (1931-1994), former Chairman of the National Association of Goldsmiths (the NAJ's predecessor) Valuations Committee, had a distinguished career in the jewellery industry and was widely known and respected both for his outstanding personal qualities and great expertise. More than any other individual David sought to encourage high standards of conduct and professionalism in respect of valuations.

The award that he sponsored remains as his legacy in promoting the aims for which he strove for so long.

The National Committee of the National Association of Jewellers may award the David Wilkins Trophy if an IRV has demonstrated outstanding skill, dedication or service in respect of jewellery appraisal and valuation.

The Trophy comprises an Elizabethan-style silver dish which is inscribed with the winner's name who retains it for the relevant year. It is complemented by the award of a £100 gift token to spend with the Gem-A to supplement the winner's personal reference library and/or add to the equipment they use.

On receiving the award, 2019 winner Shirley Mitchell said,

The IRV David Wilkins Valuer of the Year Award is what we all strive to be worthy of, to produce valuations of the highest standard is just one part of what it takes to win this award but for me it is much more than that – to me, winning this award, which is voted on by our members, is a great honour and to be awarded it twice has given me an exceptional feeling of pride. I hope to be able to live up to this great honour and carry on working to help others throughout their career so that they too will one day be standing where I am now.

Shirley Mitchell

The other IRV nominees were Gareth Brown, Heather Callaway, Steve Carson, Rosamond Clayton, Julian Cousins, Barbara Leal, Susan Pennington, Avril Plant, Jackie Sanders, John Sayer, Lesley Skinner, Adrian Smith, Catriona Smith and Alan Wetherall.

Shirley Mitchell (right) accepting the David Wilkins Awardshirley mitchell award