David Wilkins Award

David Wilkins Award

At the 2018 Loughborough Conference Michael Inkpen was announced the winner, voted for by the members of the Institute, from a short list of seven, the other nominees being Julian Cousins, Steven Jordan, Barbara Leal, Shirley Mitchell, Avril Plant and Andrée Richardson. 

The award was first presented in 1994 in memory of the late David Wilkins who was instrumental in setting up the Institute’s predecessor, the N.A.G. Registered Valuer Scheme, and comprises an Elizabethan-style silver dish which is inscribed with the winner's name who retains it for the relevant year.  It is complemented by the award of a £100 gift token to spend with the Gem-A to supplement the winner’s personal reference library and/or add to the equipment they use.

After the Conference Michael said

I was completely overwhelmed and enormously proud to be the recipient of the IRV’s David Wilkins Award for Valuer of the Year for the second time [he first won it in 2011].  There is no doubt it is a great honour to be chosen by ones peers and I can only say a deeply felt thank you to all who nominated and voted for me.  I will do my utmost to live up to the accolade and promote and support our institute to the very best of my ability.

Michael Inkpen