NAJ News

The Goldsmiths’ Centre announces the eleven Goldsmiths’ Precious Metal Grant Winners 2020

09 Mar 2020

The UK’s leading charity for the professional training of goldsmiths, the Goldsmiths’ Centre, has announced the eleven winners of its prestigious Goldsmiths’ Precious Metal Grant competition. The grant offers students the opportunity to design and produce a piece of their own work in precious metals, supplied by Cookson Precious Metals (London) worth £750 (incl. VAT). With finished pieces forming part of the students’ final degree show, many are also showcased at other graduate shows and at New Designers, a unique event for fresh design talent.

The competition received more than 60 applications, a 100% rise on 2019, with HND, BA and MA level students applying from universities and colleges across Glasgow, Ulster, Dundee, Farnham, Edinburgh, Leicester, Rochester and London.

The prestigious judging panel, which included Former Creative Director of Astley Clarke Lorna Watson, silversmiths Clive Burr, Mary Ann Simmons and Jessica Jue as well as jewellers Paul York, and Kerry Seaton were excited by the range and outstanding quality of the design proposals received.


Julia Skilton, Education and Partnership Officer at the Goldsmiths’ Centre explains,

“The eleven winners of the Goldsmiths’ Precious Metal Grant will now be able to transform their jewellery, silver or associated designs into precious metals. We’re also looking forward to seeing some of them take part in a skill swap session, where paired up with current Goldsmiths’ Company Apprentices they will gain new understanding on how to best make their designs a reality.”



Silversmithing category

  • Brodie Birss, Bishoplands Educational Trust
  • Roxanne Reynolds, Royal College of Art
  • Katie Watson, Bishoplands Educational Trust
  • Nicholas Harrington, Glasgow City University

Jewellery category

  • Michelle Currie, Glasgow School of Art
  • Daniela Groza, Edinburgh College of Art
  • Celeste Hill, Glasgow School of Art
  • Lara Hirst, Royal College of Art
  • Yanan Li, University of Edinburgh
  • Christine Milroy, Glasgow School of Art
  • Megan Murray, Glasgow School of Art

To find out more and to express your interest for 2021 visit the Goldsmiths' Precious Metal Grant website.

Source: The Goldsmiths’ Centre