NAJ News

NAJ Awards 2019 - Shortlist Announced

08 Nov 2019

The National Association of Jewellers is excited to unveil the finalists for this year’s NAJ Awards, which will be held at a glittering awards ceremony on 5th December 2019 at the St. John’s Hotel, Solihull.

Award sponsors 2019  ALL

The shortlist, selected by the NAJ editorial team, was whittled down to between three and five finalists across 11 categories. The team were looking for evidence of innovation and achievement, teamwork, leadership and contribution to wider society. The entries didn’t disappoint. Simon Forrester, Chief Executive of The National Association of Jewellers, described the entries as “competitive” across the board, and showing “true business impacts”. He added:

“These were great submissions and all with their own unique strengths and creativity. What a showcase of innovation!”

The NAJ Awards would not be possible without the support of NAJ members and sponsors, which this year welcomed online diamond marketplace Nivoda as headline sponsor. Nivoda, who operate globally with offices in London, Mumbai and Hong Kong have a vision to build a trusted marketplace for the jewellery industry, where suppliers and retailers come to find everything they need to best serve their customers and strengthen their profits.

Simon Forester, Chief Executive said:

“I am extremely thankful to award sponsors Nivoda, Windiam, Clogau, Presman Mastermelt, TH March, Parify, Inhorgenta, Hockley Mint, Clarity & Success, Pursuit, International Jewellery London and VM & Events Ltd, many of whom have shown long term commitment to this event. Thanks also goes to the trophy and champagne sponsor, Champions UK.”

This year sees the introduction of three new awards to the organisation category; Innovation of the Year, Corporate Social Responsibility Initiative of the Year and Physical Shop Front of the Year. These join established awards, including Service Provider of the Year, Website of the Year and Team of the Year. This award is given to a company that’s delivered an activity that has contributed to wider society, a specific community or a cause through raising awareness, making a contribution of time or funds, or other associated initiatives.

One standout award is Corporate Social Responsibility Initiative of the Year, sponsored by Pursuit. This award is given to a company that’s done something original or made a significant addition or change to their business that has delivered a positive impact and we’re confident that the finalists – ANCHOR & CREW, Arabel Lebrusan, Monica Vinader, Nova Silver and Pugata Jewellery - have demonstrated this in spades.

Innovation of the Year, kindly sponsored by Clarity and Success, sees Akansha Sethi, De Beers Group Industry Services and MyriamSOS all in with a chance of scooping a prestigious NAJ accolade this year. This award is given to a company that has made a significant addition or change to their business that has delivered a positive impact. London based jeweller Akansha Sethi’s mesmerising jewellery was first launched during London Fashion Week in 2018. Akansha's entry comes in the form of unisex button covers crafted from hand painted enamel, natural precious and semi-precious stones which can be worn on a cuff or front of a shirt/jacket. De Beers Group Industry Services had a clear mission to grow and strengthen confidence across the diamond industry, in addition to providing innovative and proprietary instruments that serve the trade, De Beers continues to strengthen their melee testing service which is now a market leader. It will come as no surprise that the Aqua Wave ring designed MyriamSOS, in a joint collaboration between the Osmium Institute, has made the shortlist. The ring is one of the very few jewellery pieces in the world containing osmium. Based on the fluid lines derived from water, this ring really pushes the boundaries of experimentation.

The winners will be presented with a coveted pewter twist trophy designed by Catherine Tutt and kindly sponsored by branding agency Champions (UK). The winners will be announced at our awards presentation on the 5th December at The Benevolent Ball, which will be taking place at St John’s Hotel, Solihull and will be attended by almost 400 allied trade professionals. If you would like to join the finalists, cheer on industry achievements and network at this glamorous black-tie event with wine and a three-course meal, please contact Gill Price for tickets –

The shortlist is as follows:

Sales Person of the Year

Craig Cohen, Ntinga
Emma Williamson, Lucy Quartermaine Jewellery
Tracey Jones, Purely Diamonds

Designer of the Year

Arabel Lebrusan
Charlotte Cornelius
Erica Sharpe
Julien Riad Sahyoun
Vicki Smith

Workshop Professional of the Year

Alexander Wood, Nathaniel Groves Jewellery
Anthony Dellow, House of Hatton
Richard Soden, Hockley Mint
Peter Byrne, The Jewellery Design Workshop

Team of the Year

Charlotte Cornelius
Clogau Gold of Wales Ltd
Purely Diamonds
The Jewellery Cut
PA Jewellery

Service Provider of the Year

Clark Diamonds
Gemmology Rocks
Magpie Europe Ltd
Presman Mastermelt

Jewellery/Watch Supplier of the Year

Clogau Gold of Wales Ltd
Hockley Mint
Unique & Co

Retailer of the Year

Clogau Gold of Wales Ltd
Purely Diamonds
Rowcot Ltd T/A John McKay Jewellers
Time and Motion Jewellers

Innovation of the Year

Akansha Sethi
De Beers Industry Services

Corporate Social Responsibility Initiative of the Year

Anchor & Crew
Arabel Lebrusan
Monica Vinader
Pugata Jewellery

Website of the Year

Anchor & Crew
Bond Jewellery and Diamonds
Lebrusan Studio
Purely Diamonds

Physical shopfront of the Year

Hill & Hill the Jewellers
Lister Horsfall
Maunder Watch Co.
Time and Motion Jewellers


To purchase tickets please contact Gill Price via email for more information.

Buy tickets